Oscar Nominations 2014 (spoiler alerts!)

Being the fact that I have literally minimal to zero social life I spend my weekends watching movies.  I’ll let the excuse slide that its winter and I don’t really feel like going out in the cold but lets face it that’s really not the case.  So, I watch movies all weekend long in the comfort of my own home, in MY bed.  Still in theaters? No problem.  I’m not going to elaborate on my secret of obtaining these movies but just take my word for it.  I have to say that this years Oscar Nods are on target with a few exceptions.  Gravity? No.  Just.  No.  I have no wish to see Sandra Bullock and George Clooney (although still beautiful at the ripe old age of 52) floating around space in space suits clawing for instruments to fix their doomed shuttlecraft.  Moving on……   Below are my personal predictions and no its not up for discussion.  I’ve seen all these movies with my own eyes and I don’t care WHAT the “Academy” has to say.

Best Picture

  • American Hustle
  • Captain Phillips
  • Dallas Buyers Club
  • Gravity
  • Her
  • Nebraska
  • Philomena
  • 12 Years a Slave
  • The Wolf of Wall Street

My prediction:  This was the toughest category to judge amongst all of them.  They were all so good in their own way.  Its really a split vote in my head between 12 Years a Slave and The Wolf of Wall Street.  While Dallas Buyers Club has the potential to sneak in and win the whole thing I really think its down to those two movies.

Best Actor in a Leading Role

  • Christian Bale – American Hustle
  • Bruce Dern – Nebraska
  • Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street
  • Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave
  • Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club

My prediction: This is a very crowded, talented bunch of actors.  With none of them really pulling away with an absolute clinch in my book.  Leonardo DiCaprio is FAR overdue for his golden trophy and after watching him claw his way to his Lambo,  7 lemon Quaaludes deep, I say give the man the statue.

THE WOLF OF WALL STREET

Best Actress in a Leading Role

  • Amy Adams – American Hustle
  • Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
  • Sandra Bullock – Gravity
  • Judi Dench – Philomena
  • Meryl Streep – August: Osage County

My prediction:  This is just between Meryl Streep and Cate Blanchett.  Had August-Osage County not even been in this running there’d be no denying it.  My vote? Cate Blanchett.  “Anxiety, nightmares and a nervous breakdown, there’s only so many traumas a person can withstand until they take to the streets and start screaming!!!”  Woody Allen is a fucking genius!

image_193977_4

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine
  • Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle
  • Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
  • Julia Roberts – August: Osage County
  • June Squibb – Nebraska

My prediction:  This is an open and shut case.  Hand the trophy to Lupita Nyong’o.  I don’t know where this woman came from before this movie, but she sure as shit has left a mark on Hollywood.

DF-02238.CR2

Best Actor in A Supporting Role

  • Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips
  • Bradley Cooper – American Hustle
  • Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave
  • Jonah Hill – The Wolf of Wall Street
  • Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club

My prediction:  Again, I reiterate, this is an open and shut case.  Just mail the statue to Jared Leto in DBC.  His performance as Rayon will forever be imprinted in my brain.  Not only does this man look sexy as hell in real life, he is one damned fine woman!  GOOD LAWD.  “STOP STARING AT HER TITS RAYON, YOURE STARTING TO LOOK NORMAL”.

IF

Personally, these are the only categories that I bother to watch it for.  Everything else to me is meaningless but that’s just IMO.  This has been by far THE best year I can think of where I actually enjoyed watching these movies, besides Gravity,  I already told you im not watching those two floating around space.  I hope the movie ends with them starting a colony on Mars.  Stupid concept Warner Brothers….stupid concept.

Leave a Reply

