R.I.P. Big L

nasandbigl

Today marks the 15th anniversary (God Damn, I’m getting old…) of the death of the best punchline rapper of all time: Big L. Lamont “Big L” Coleman, also known for his roles in the legendary D.I.T.C and Children of the Corn groups, was tragically gunned down at the age of 24 allegedly over a beef involving his incarcerated brother that had absolutely nothing to do with the Harlem MC. This is made even more devastating by the fact that just seven days before his brutal death, Coleman had begun the process of signing to Roc-a-Fella records after his song “Ebonics” caught the attention of Roc-aFela CEO Damon Dash with his classic track “Ebonics” (Herb McGruff, C-Town, and Jay-Z were to start a group called “The Wolfpack”). Much like The Notorious B.I.G., Big L was only able to release two essential solo albums before his untimely passing. However, I feel like Big L often gets unfairly overlooked when the subject of “The greatest rappers of all time” is brought up. Here he is Renegade’ing Jay-Z, 5 years before Eminem did (“I’m so far ahead of my time my parents haven’t met yet!” SMDH)

Leave a Reply

