Song of the Day 11/12/14

Camp Lo – Luchini AKA This is It

Lately, I’ve been trying to listen to an older classic album that I either haven’t listened to in a long time or I just missed entirely. For the most part, this has been rewarding as I’ve discovered some of absolutely fantastic albums. I can’t believe I had never listened to Prince Paul’s A Prince Among Thieves before. I like Kendrick Lamar as much as anybody, but anyone who says that Good Kid m.A.A.d City is the best concept album of all time has never heard A Prince Among Thieves. That’s the first album that ever had me on the edge of my seat before. Listen to it if you haven’t.

Anyway, the album I chose for today is Uptown Saturday Night by Camp Lo. Camp Lo is one of those 90’s groups who had a critically successful debut that even spawned a hit single (“Luchini”) and then were never able to recapture that magic and sort of just faded away. For lack of a better term, they’re a One Album Wonder, but that album is definitely worth a listen for any hip-hop fan.

Leave a Reply

